Thesis defense schedule


Summer 2017


PhD final oral examinations


Student: Yinglia Xia
Title: High Power Density, High Efficiency Single Phase Transformer-less Photovoltaic String Inverters
Committee: Dr. Raja Ayyanar (chair),  Dr. Jiangchao Qin, Dr. George Karady, and Dr. Qin Lei
Time: July 13, 2017 at 1:00 p.m. in ENGRC 593

Student: Hugh Chung
Title: Low Frequency Electric Field Imaging
Committee: David Allee (chair),  Dr. James Aberle, Dr. Douglas Cochran, and Dr. Stephen Phillips
Time: July 7, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. in ERC 490

Student: Shruti Dwarkanath Rao
Title: Exploration of a Scalable Holomorphic Embedding Method Formulation for Power System Analysis Applications
Committee: Dr. Daniel Tylavsky (chair),  Dr. John Undrill, Dr. Vijay Vittal, and Dr. Anamitra Pal
Time: July 7, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ERC 533

Student: Chandarasekaran Ramamurthy
Title: Radiation Hardened by Design Methodologies for Soft-Error Mitigated Digital Architectures
Committee: Dr. Lawrence Clark (chair),  Dr. David Allee, Dr. Keith Holbert, and Dr. Bertan Bakkaloglu
Time: July 6, 2017 at 11:00 a.m. in GWC 208

Student: Zhijian Lu
Title: GaN-based Micro-LED Visible Light Communication: LOS VLS with Active Tracking, and NLOS VLC Demonstration
Committee: Dr. Yuji Zhao (chair),  Dr. Hongbin Yu, Dr. Hongjiang Song, and Dr. Daniel Bliss
Time: July 6, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ERC 111

Student: Reinhard Gentz
Title: Wireless Sensor Data Transport, Aggregation and Security
Committee: Dr. Anna Scaglione (chair),  Dr. Gail-Joon Ahn, Dr. Sean Peisert, and Dr. Yanchao Zhang
Time: July 5, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in GWC 208C

Student: Kuldeep Sharad Kulkarni
Title: Computer Vision from Spatial-Multiplexing Cameras at Low Measurement Rates
Committee: Dr. Pavan Turaga (chair),  Dr. Baoxin Li, Dr. Chaitali Chakrabarti, and Dr. Aswin Sankaranarayanan
Time: July 5, 2017 at 11:00 a.m. in GWC 409

Student: Wenhao Chen
Title: Cu-Silica Based Programmable Metallization Cell: Fabrication, Characterization and Applications
Committee: Dr. Hugh Barnaby (co-chair),  Dr. Michael Kozicki (co-chair), Dr. Trevor Thornton, and Dr. Shimeng Yu
Time: May 10, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in ERC 189

Student: Xiaocong Jin
Title: Security and Privacy in Dynamic Spectrum Access: Challenges and Solutions
Committee: Dr. Yanchao Zhang (chair),  Dr. Cihan Tepedelenlioglu, Dr. Lei Ying, and Dr. Junshan Zhang
Time: May 10, 2017 at 11:00 a.m. in GWC 409

Student: Sohom Datta
Title: Risk-Based Dynamic Security Assessment of the Electricity Grid with High Penetration of Renewable Generation
Committee: Dr. Vijay Vittal (chair),  Dr. Raja Ayyanar, Dr. Gerald Heydt, and Dr. John Undrill
Time: May 10, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ERC 533


MS final oral examinations


Student: Nikhilesh Ravishankar
Title: Autonomous Quadrotor Navigation by Detecting Vanishing Point in Indoor Environments
Committee: Dr. Armando Rodriguez (chair), Dr. Konstantinos Tsakalis, and Dr. Spring Berman
Time: July 6, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in GWC 208

Student: Yangjun Li
Title: Smart Building with Predictive Air Conditioning Control: A Knapsack Approach
Committee: Dr. Junshan Zhang (chair), Dr. Yanchao Zhang, and Dr. Lei Ying
Time: June 29, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in GWC 409

Student: Peng Zheng
Title:Skin Tissue Terahertz Imaging for Fingerprint Biometrics
Committee: Dr. Georgios Trichopoulos (chair), Dr. James Aberle, and Dr. George Pan
Time: June 20, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ISTB4 555A

Student: Lovish Masand
Title: Random Effects Measurement Test Structure
Committee: Dr. Lawrence Clark (chair), Dr. Keith Holbert, and Dr. Hugh Barnaby
Time: June 19, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in GWC 208

Student: Parshant (NLN)
Title: Electrostatic Analysis of Gate All Around(GAA) Nanowire over FinFET
Committee: Dr. Lawrence Clark (chair), Dr. John Brunhaver, and Dr. David Ferry
Time: June 16, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. in ERC 490

Student: Ankita Dosi
Title: 6t-SRAM and test structures design
Committee: Dr. Lawrence Clark (chair), Dr. John Brunhaver, and Dr. Jae-sun Seo
Time: June 16, 2017 at 12:00 p.m. in ERC 490

Student: Zhenmin Tang
Title: Novel Pilot Directional Protection for the FREEDM Smart Grid System
Committee: Dr. George Karady (chair), Dr. Keith Holbert, and Dr. Jiangchao Qin
Time: June 27, 2017 at 1:30 p.m. in ENGRC 189

Student: Yu Geng
Title: Multi-Input Single-Inductor MPPT Regulator with Sliding-Mode Controller for Multi-Junction PV Source
Committee: Dr. Sayfe Kiaei (chair), Dr. Bertan Bakkaloglu, and Dr. Jennifer Kitchen
Time: May 23, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ISTB4 555A

Student: Qirong Peng
Title: Single-Inductor, Dual-Input, CCM, Boost Converter
Committee: Dr. Sayfe Kiaei (chair), Dr. Umit Ogras, and Dr. Bertan Bakkaloglu
Time: May 4, 2017 at 2:00 p.m. in INTDSB 555A


Fall 2017


PhD final oral examinations


Student: Chaomin Zhang
Title: GaP/Si integrated solar cells via MBE
Committee: Dr. Richard King (chair),  Dr. Stephen Goodnick, Dr. Stuart Boden, and Dr. Christina Honsberg
Time: September 12, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ENGRC 593

Student: Yue Jing
Title: High Slew-Rate Adaptive Biasing Hybrid Envelope Tracking Supply Modulator for LTE Applications
Committee: Dr. Bertain Bakkaloglu (chair),  Dr. Sayfe Kiaei, Dr. Jennifer Kitchen, and Dr. Hongjiang Song
Time: August 23, 2017 at 10:00 a.m. in ISTB4 555A



MS final oral examinations



View thesis defense archives