Tenured and Tenure-Track Faculty

James Aberle, Associate Professor
aberle@asu.edu
(480) 965-8588
GWC 326
ASU Faculty Since: 1989
Expertise: Antennas and RF systems for wireless communications, modeling of complex electromagnetic phenomena, electromagnetics, antennas and microwave circuits.
David Allee, Professor
allee@asu.edu
(480) 965-6470
GWC 347
ASU Faculty Since: 1991
Expertise: Ultra-small device fabrication, mixed-signal circuit design for analog-to-digital conversion, and telemetry.
Raja Ayyanar, Associate Professor
rayyanar@asu.edu
(480) 727-7307
ERC 587
ASU Faculty Since: 2000
Expertise: Power electronics, DC-DC converters, voltage regulators and power management, power conversion and control for renewable energy interface, especially PV and wind, smart grid technologies, plug-in electric vehicles, and motor drives.
Bertan Bakkaloglu, Associate Professor
bertan.
bakkaloglu@asu.edu

(480) 727-0293
GWC 302B
ASU Faculty Since: 2004
Exptertise: RF and mixed-signal IC design, integrated power management circuits for high reliability applications, biomedical and chemical instrumentation ICs.
Constantine Balanis, Regents’ Professor
balanis@asu.edu
(480) 965-3909
GWC 452
ASU Faculty Since: 1983
Expertise: Computational electromagnetic methods (FDTD, FEM, MoM, O/GTD/UTD, PO/PTD) for antennas, scattering and high-intensity radiated fields (HIRF), flexible antennas using FDC plastic, smart/adaptive antennas for wireless communications.
Hugh Barnaby, Associate Professor
hbarnaby@asu.edu
(480) 727-0289
GWC 316
ASU Faculty Since: 2004
Expertise: Semiconductors for hostile environments, device physics and modeling, microelectronic device and sensor design and manufacturing, analog/RF/mixed signal circuit design and test.
personnel_visarVisar Berisha, Assistant Professor, Joint appointment with Department of Speech and Hearing Science
visar@asu.edu
(480) 727-6455
Coor Hall, 3472
ASU Faculty Since: 2013
Expertise: Statistical signal processing, speech and audio perception, machine learning.
Bertoni_Mariana_WEBMariana Bertoni, Assistant Professor
Mariana.Bertoni@asu.edu
(480) 727-0755
ERC 173
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Defect engineering of solar cell materials, transparent conducting oxides, defects in semiconductors, synthesis, growth and deposition of semiconductors, electrical and optical characterization, X-ray microscopy.
Jennifer Blain Christen,
Assistant Professor
jennifer.blain
christen@asu.edu

(480)965-9859
GWC 334
ASU Faculty Since: 1983
Expertise: Bio-compatible integration techniques for CMOS electronics, microfluidics and soft lithography, MEMS devices with emphasis on bio-MEMS, analog and mixed-mode VLSI for bio-medical/analytical instrumentation including SOS/SOI technologies.
Bliss_DanWEBDaniel Bliss, Associate Professor
d.w.bliss@asu.edu
(480) 965-3913
GWC 428
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Multiple-input multiple-output (MIMO) wireless communications, distributed cooperative communications, full-duplex relays, geolocation techniques, MIMO radar, nonlocal Bayesian estimation bounds, channel phenomenology and signal processing for anticipatory medical applications.
Yu Cao, Associate Professor
ycao@asu.edu
(480) 965-1472
GWC 336
ASU Faculty Since: 2002
Expertise: Physical modeling of nanoscale technologies, design solutions for variability and reliability, and reliable integration of post-silicon technologies.
Junseok Chae, Associate Professor
junseok.
chae@asu.edu

(480) 965-2082
GWC 312
ASU Faculty Since: 2005
Expertise: Microelectromechanical systems sensors/actuators, micro-EMS packaging, hybrid integration: from nano to micro, micro to macro-worlds, and bio-MEMS.
Chakrabarti_ChaitaliWEB13Chaitali Chakrabarti, Professor
chaitali@asu.edu
(480)965-9516
GWC 418
ASU Faculty Since: 1990
Expertise: VLSI architectures and algorithms for media processing and wireless communications, low-power embedded system design, including those powered by fuel cellbattery sources, low power algorithm design and algorithm-architecture co-design of signal processing systems.
Picture_Website_srabantiSrabanti Chowdhury, Assistant Professor
Srabanti.Chowdhury@asu.edu
ASU Faculty Since: 2013
Expertise: power electronics, gallium nitride material for device application in high voltage and high frequency electronics, High Electron Mobility Transistors (HEMTs), device reliability, understanding failure modes (at a product level), device physics, study of dielectric materials and its characterization and device simulation.
Lawrence Clark, Professor
lawrence.
clark@asu.edu

(480) 727-0295
GWC 234
ASU Faculty Since: 2004
Expertise: Circuits and architectures for low power and high performance VLSI, radiation hardened circuit design and CAD for VLSI.
Douglas Cochran, Associate Professor
Cochran@asu.edu
(480) 965-7409
GWC 664
ASU Faculty Since: 1989
Expertise: Sensor signal processing, applied harmonic analysis, detection theory.
Tolga Duman, Professor
duman@asu.edu
(480) 965-7888
GWC 411B
ASU Faculty Since: 1998
Expertise: Digital communications, wireless and mobile communications, channel coding, coded modulation, multiuser communications, information theory, and underwater acoustic communications.
David Ferry, Regents’ Professor
david.ferry@asu.edu
(480) 965-2570
ERC 559
ASU Faculty Since: 1983
Expertise: Transport physics and modeling of quantum effects in submicron semiconductor devices, scanning gate microscopy of quantum properties of mesoscopic devices.
David Frakes, Assistant Professor
dfrakes@asu.edu
(480) 727-9284
ISTB1 281 F
ASU Faculty Since: 2008
Expertise: General – image and video processing, fluid dynamics, machine vision; specific – endovascular treatment of cerebral aneurysms, surgical planning for congenital heart defects, suppression of atmospheric distortion in video, and control of flexible systems.
Gennady Gildenblat, Professor
gildenblat@asu.edu
(480) 965-3749
GWC 310
ASU Faculty Since: 2006
Expertise: Physics and modeling of semiconductor devices, semiconductor transport physics, integrated circuit technology.
Stephen Goodnick, Professor
stephen.
goodnick@asu.edu

(480) 965-9572
ERC 552
ASU Faculty Since: 1996
Expertise: Solid state device physics, transport in nanostructures, nanoelectronic devices and circuits, computational electronics, RF and microwave devices, optoelectronic and energy conversion devices.
Ravi Gorur, Professor, Undergraduate Program Chair
ravi.gorur@asu.edu
(480) 965-4894
GWC 214 and ERC 515
ASU Faculty Since: 1987
Expertise: Dielectrics and electrical insulating materials for outdoor power delivery, nanodielectrics, electric field calculations, HV testing techniques and computer-aided design.
Michael Goryll, Associate Professor
michael.
goryll@asu.edu

(480) 965-9517
ERC 153
ASU Faculty Since: 2007
Expertise: Surface and interface physics, new materials in CMOS processing, fabrication of nanoscale semiconductor devices, biosensors based on silicon, biological signal transduction phenomena, electrophysiological properties of cell membrane ion channels, lownoise analog amplifier circuit design, electronic instrumentation for biophysical measurements.
Kory Hedman, Assistant Professor
khedman@asu.edu
(480) 965-1276
ERC 579
ASU Faculty Since: 2010
Expertise: Energy systems, power system economics, mathematical programming, operations and planning, transmission engineering, renewable energy, market design, financial engineering, and game theory.
Gerald Heydt, Regents’ Professor
heydt@asu.edu
(480) 965-8307
ERC 507
ASU Faculty Since: 1994
Expertise:
Power engineering, electric power quality, distribution engineering, transmission engineering, computer applications in power engineering, power engineering education, power system sensors and instrumentation.
Keith Holbert, Associate Professor
holbert@asu.edu
(480) 965-8594
ERC 581
ASU Faculty Since: 1989
Expertise:
Process monitoring and diagnostics, sensor fault detection, instrumentation development, fuzzy logic, spacecraft charging, and radiation effects on electronics.
Zachary Holman, Assistant Professor
Zachary.
Holman@asu.edu

ASU Faculty Since: 2013
Expertise: Novel uses of nanoparticles in solar cells, light management in crystalline and thin-film silicon solar cells, semiconductor nanoparticles, optical and electronic properties of nanoscale materials, plasma synthesis of powders, deposition of powders and thin films.
Christiana Honsberg, Professor
christiana.
honsberg@asu.edu

(480)-965-2831
ERC 539
ASU Faculty Since: 2008
Expertise: Ultra-high efficiency solar cells, and silicon solar cells.
George Karady, Professor
karady@asu.edu
(480) 965-6569
ERC 589
ASU Faculty Since: 1986
Expertise: Power electronics, high voltage engineering and power systems.
Karam_Lina_Sp13WEBLina Karam, Professor
karam@asu.edu
(480) 965-3694
GWC 430
ASU Faculty Since: 1995
Expertise: Image and video processing, compression, and transmission, visual quality assessment, human visual perception, multidimensional signal processing, digital filtering, source coding, and bio-medical imaging.
Sayfe Kiaei, Professor, Associate Dean, Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering
sayfe at asu dot edu
(480) 727-7761
GWC 302D
ASU Faculty Since: 2001
Expertise: Wireless transceiver design, RF and mixed-signal ICs.
Jennifer Kitchen, Assistant Professor
kitchen.
jennifer@asu.edu

(480) 965-1857
GWC 314
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Efficiency and power management for high-frequency circuits and systems.
Kosut_OliverWEBOliver Kosut, Assistant Professor
Oliver.
Kosut@asu.edu

(480) 727-6020
GWC 422
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Information theory, power systems and smart grids, security and sparse recovery.
Michael Kozicki, Professor
michael.
kozicki@asu.edu

(480) 965-2572
ERC 561
ASU Faculty Since: 1985
Expertise: Integrated/solid-state nanoionics, low-energy non-volatile memory, self-healing electrodes and interconnects, and nano-electromechanical systems (NEMS).
Ying-Cheng Lai, Professor
ying-cheng.
lai@asu.edu

(480) 965-6668
GWC 610
ASU Faculty Since: 1999
Expertise: Nonlinear dynamics, quantum transport in nanostructures, complex networks, signal processing, and biological physics.
Deirdre Meldrum, Professor
deirdre.
meldrum@asu.edu

(480) 965-9235
BYENG 652
ASU Faculty Since: 2007
Expertise: Automation in life sciences, automation, micro- and nanotechnologies, microscale systems, lab-on-achip, single cell, genomics, ecogenomics, robotics, control systems.
Ning_Cun-Zheng_Sp13WEBCun-Zheng Ning, Professor
cning@asu.edu
(480) 965-7421
GWC 614
ASU Faculty Since: 2006
Expertise: Nanophotonics, nanowires, surface plasmons and nanolasers, nanomaterials-based detectors and solar cells, physics of nanostructures and manybody effects, modeling and simulation of optoelectronic devices, quantum optics, and two-photon lasers, geometric phases, stochastic resonances.
Ogras_Umit_3750bUmit Ogras, Assistant Professor
umit@asu.edu
(480) 727-0294
GWC 320
ASU Faculty Since: 2013
Expertise: Digital VLSI design, embedded systems and electronic design automation with particular emphasis on multiprocessor systems-on-chip (MPSoC) and multicore architectures.
Sule Ozev, Associate Professor
sule.ozev@asu.edu
(480) 727-7547
GWC 311
ASU Faculty Since: 2008
Expertise: Self-test and selfcalibration for wireless transceivers, analysis and mitigation of process variations for mixed signal and digital circuits, fault-tolerant and reconfigurable heterogeneous systems, mixed signal circuit testing.
Joseph Palais, Professor Emeritus (FSC), Graduate Program Chair
joseph.
palais@asu.edu

(480) 965-3757
GWC 222
ASU Faculty Since: 1964
Expertise: Fiber optic communications, holography, and distance education.
George Pan, Professor
george.pan@asu.edu
(480) 965-1732
GWC 318
ASU Faculty Since: 1995
Expertise: Computational electromagnetics, high-speed electronics packaging, magnetic resonant imaging RF coil design and analysis, inverse scattering, rough surface scattering, millimeter-wave antenna systems.
Antonia Papandreou-Suppappola, Professor
papandreou
@asu.edu

(480) 965-7881
ISTB 467
ASU Faculty Since: 1999
Expertise: Waveform-agile sensing, time-frequency processing, stochastic signal processing, biosensing.
Stephen Phillips, Professor, Director of the School
stephen.
phillips@asu.edu

(480) 965-6410
GWC 208H
ASU Faculty Since:
2002
Expertise:
Applications and integration of microsystems including microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), microactuators, neural recording and neural stimulation; applications of systems and control including adaptive control, instrumentation and control of gas-turbine engines, control of microsystems, prosthetics, feedback control over nondeterministic networks.
Martin Reisslein, Professor
reisslein@asu.edu
(480) 965-8593
GWC 411A
ASU Faculty Since: 2000
Expertise: Multimedia streaming, multimedia traffic characteristics, metro and access fiber/wireless networks, and engineering education.
Armando Rodriguez, Professor
aar@asu.edu
(480) 965-3712
GWC 352
ASU Faculty Since: 1990
Expertise: Control of nonlinear distributed parameter systems, approximation theory, sampled data and multi-rate control, embedded systems, rapid prototyping, modeling, simulation, animation, and realtime control (MoSART), control of flexible autonomous machines operating in an uncertain environment (FAME), integrated real-time health monitoring, modeling, and reconfigurable fault-tolerant controls, control of bio-economic systems, renewable resources, and sustainable development, control of semiconductor, aerospace, robotic, and low power electronic systems.
Sankar_LalithaWEBLalitha Sankar, Assistant Professor
Lalitha.
Sankar@asu.edu

(480) 965-4953
ERC 585
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Information privacy in distributed and cyberphysical systems, wireless communications, network information theory.
Marco Saraniti, Professor
marco.
saraniti@asu.edu

(480) 965-2650
ERC 537
ASU Faculty Since: 2007
Expertise: Computational electronics and biophysics.
Jennie Si, Professor
si@asu.edu
(480) 965-6133
GWC 351
ASU Faculty Since: 1991
Expertise: Learning and approximate dynamic programming, estimation and filtering of stochastic processes, neural networks, neurophysiological basis for control, cortical neural information processing, and brain machine interface.
Brian Skromme, Professor
skromme@asu.edu
(480) 965-8592
ERC 155
ASU Faculty Since: 1989
Expertise: Compound semiconductor materials and devices, especially wide bandgap materials for optoelectronic, high frequency, high-power, and high-temperature applications, optical characterization of semiconductor materials, development of GaN and SiC-based materials and devices.
Andreas Spanias, Professor
spanias@asu.edu
(480) 965-1837
GWC 411 F
ASU Faculty Since: 1988
Expertise: Digital signal processing, multimedia signal processing, speech and audio coding, adaptive filters, real-time processing of sensor data, signal processing for the arts.
Meng Tao, Professor
meng.tao@asu.edu
(480) 965-9845
ERC 157
ASU Faculty Since: 2011
Expertise: Terawatt photovoltaics for solar energy conversion, semiconductor surfaces, interfaces, and thin films.
Nongjian Tao, Professor
nongjian.
tao@asu.edu

(480) 965-4456
BDB 138A and GWC 618
ASU Faculty Since: 2001
Expertise: Chemical and biological sensors, molecular and nano electronics, nanostructured materials and devices, and electrochemical nanofabrications.
Cihan Tepedelenlioglu, Associate Professor
cihan@asu.edu
(480) 965-6623
GWC 411D
ASU Faculty Since: 2001
Expertise: Wireless communications, statistical signal processing, data mining for PV systems.
Trevor Thornton, Professor
t.thornton@asu.edu
(480) 965-3808
ERC 115A
ASU Faculty Since: 1998
Expertise: Nanostructures, molecular electronics and sensors, microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), silicon-oninsulator MESFETs.
Konstantinos Tsakalis, Professor
tsakalis@asu.edu
(480) 965-1467
GWC 358
ASU Faculty Since: 1988
Expertise Applications of control, optimization and system identification theory to semiconductor manufacturing, chemical process control, and prediction and control of epileptic seizures.
Pavan Turaga, Assistant Professor
pturaga@asu.edu
(480) 965-3704
MCENT 204B
ASU Faculty Since: 2011
Expertise: Computer Vision, Multimedia, Human Activity Analysis, Machine Learning.
Daniel Tylavsky, Associate Professor
tylavsky@asu.edu
(480) 965-3460
ERC 517
ASU Faculty Since: 1982
Expertise: Electric power systems, numerical methods applied to large-scale system problems, parallel numerical algorithms, new educational methods and technologies, applying social optimization to power system markets, and transformer thermal modeling.
Dragica Vasileska, Professor
vasileska@asu.edu
(480) 965-6651
ERC 555
ASU Faculty Since: 1997
Expertise: Semiconductor device physics, semiconductor transport, 1-D to 3-D device modeling, quantum field theory and its application to real device structures, spin transport, heating effects in nanoscale devices, current collapse in GaN HEMTs.
Vijay Vittal, Professor, Ira A. Fulton Chair in Electrical Engineering
vijay.vittal@asu.edu
(480) 965-1879
ERC 513
ASU Faculty Since: 2005
Expertise: Electric power, power system dynamics and controls, nonlinear systems, computer applications in power, sustainable energy, modeling and simulation of complex systems.
Ying_LeiWEBLei Ying, Associate Professor
Lei.Ying.2@asu.edu
(480) 965-7003
GWC 436
ASU Faculty Since: 2012
Expertise: Information networks including wireless, mobile ad hoc, P2P and social networks.
Hongbin Yu, Associate Professor
yuhb@asu.edu
(480) 965-4455
ERC 159
ASU Faculty Since: 2005
Expertise: Nanostructure and nanodevice fabrication and characterization, transport in metallic and semiconducting nanostructures and molecules, quantum size effect in metallic and semiconducting nanostructures, surface and interface physics and chemistry.
Hongyu Yu, Assistant Professor
hongyuyu@asu.edu
(480) 727-7454
GWC 338
ASU Faculty Since: 2008
Expertise: Wireless environmental sensing and communication, microfluidic analysis systems, acoustic transducers, micro seismometer, accelerometer, and mass spectrometer.
Zhang_YanchaoWEB_Sp13Junshan Zhang, Professor
junshan.zhang@asu.edu
(480) 727-7389
GWC 440
ASU Faculty Since: 2000
Expertise: Network optimization and management, cyber-physical systems with applications to smart grid, wireless communications, complex network dynamics, information theory, and stochastic modeling and analysis.
Zhang_YanchaoWEB_Sp13Yanchao Zhang, Associate Professor
yczhang@asu.edu
(480) 727-0039
GWC 416
ASU Faculty Since: 2010
Expertise: Network and distributed system security, wireless networking, and mobile computing.
Zhang_Yong-Hang_Sp13WEBYong-Hang Zhang, Professor
yhzhang@asu.edu
(480) 965-2562
ERC 161
ASU Faculty Since: 1996
Expertise: Optoelectronic materials and devices, such as solar cells, laser diodes, and photodetectors.
Zhao_Yuji-9872WEB.jpgYuji Zhao, Assistant Professor
Yuji.Zhao@asu.edu
ERC 531
ASU Faculty Since: 2014
Expertise: Photonics and electronics; MOCVD growth and device applications of III-nitride semiconductors, including LEDs, lasers, solar cells, and power transistors; nanofabrication and nanoscale characterizations; wide-bandgap semiconductors and oxides; new physics, materials, and devices for future solid-state electronics.